La Bastille de Grenoble et son Téléphérique

This morning, we  first went to the Halle  Sainte Claire  ( a food  market) for  the morning shopping. The vendors are so friendly, and the boucher* left his stall and took  us over to the stall that sold relishes and explained to that vendor what we wanted.  We found many fruits that I have never seen in America.  Believe it or not, the prices were better than we get in America.  Je suis très hereuse.*( I learned how to add the accents!)  We made our way home and prepared a petit déjeuner of quail eggs and pain.

Then, we made our way up the téléphérique  today. (See photo.)  The “bubble cars” run to and from the Bastille all day and evening long.  We packed a lunch and some water and walked to the entrance about 2 minutes away from our apartment.  We watch the cars regularly from our salon*.  For about 4 euro 40 you can go up one way by the bubble car and walk down which is what we did.  Because we were going up  a mountain, I thought it would be a cool temp up there. WRONG!  It was hot and very sunny (no rain since we’ve been here).  We both burned because we didn’t put sunscreen on.  Vivre et apprendre!*  We made our way up to the Mémorial des Troupes de montagne de montagne * which was about a 30 min. hike up the mountain.  Luckily, I had worn my “not fashionable in Grenoble”  hiking shoes.  We had a pique-nique* when we reached the memorial. There was a great breeze in the shade of the trees.  We found our way down, but with many wrong turns.  The idea of signs pointing the way is a novelty here.  I’ll attach a link to the brochure(in english) if you’re interested in looking at it.  /www.bastille-grenoble.fr/english/index.html

You’ll notice a little guy in one of the photos that I’m posting.  We brought him from NC, and he will appear in future posts.  His name is Wolfgang, and he’s an NCSU gnome.  We have gotten a few odd looks in recent days when he appears, but for the most part he elicits some smiles from the passer-bys when he is being snapped.

Je suis très hereuse: I am very happy.

salon: living room

Vivre et apprendre!: Live and learn

Mémorial des Troupes de montagne de montagne: National Mountain Troops Memorial

pique-nique: picnic

Bubble Cars

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 18:26:48

    The bubble cars are fascinating. Is there any air flow in them?? I was wondering if they were hot inside. I think I would ride in one all day long…doing my Glenda the Good Witch impersonation…yes, I have one. (The French would hate me.) New fruits? Like what? This must make your heart sing. Quail eggs….I’ve only seen them on the Food Network. How many did Steve eat before he was full?? I am so glad the people are friendly and helpful. Your hike sounds like fun, wrong turns and all. Wolfgang is cute. Please don’t buy a stroller for him because then I’m going to worry about you two..

    Reply

    • steveandmo
      Jul 11, 2010 @ 19:34:52

      I’ll take some pictures of the eggs and fruits. We went in the bubbles at around 11 am. It was warm, and I’m glad we didn’t go later. The hike would have been better earlier OR in October! They recommend the quail eggs to add to salads. Won’t fill you up much. The eggs in general are different – lighter yellow yolk. The carrots are not as orange and are lighter in taste as well. The big difference is the yogurt. We bought something that didn’t say yogurt, but instead “fromage blanc velouté” It turned out to be like a plain yogurt, but not as bitter or strong. It also was cheaper than the yogurt and tasted good. The translator calls it cheese soup! I’ll do a food picture so you can see what I’m talking about. I found Wolfgang at my favorite Cary shopping spot for $5: Good Will on Maynard .

      Reply

  2. Barbara Johnson
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 18:30:39

    Great Pictures!! Looks like your French is getting pretty good!

    Reply

  3. Deb
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 01:43:55

    Mo: I love the blog! The experience with the washer is similar to one we had in London except it was in English but nothing labeled at all like the ones here. My wash was in for two days because I couldn’t figure out how to open it. Each time I tried it washed them again! I am so glad you are happy! xoxox

    Reply

  4. Catherine
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 20:56:51

    I’m really enjoying your blog. Wolfgang is a hoot! I’m glad that you are having such a great time!

    Reply

  5. eliza
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 22:11:16

    Maureen. We sent one of those gnomes to a former exchange student in Costa Rica. It was a UNC gnome so he named it Duke.

    Reply

    • steveandmo
      Jul 22, 2010 @ 22:33:13

      Eliza, I hope you and Robin are well. Wolfgang is in several more pictures yet to be posted. Unfortunately, I didn’t take him to St. Pierre Chartreuse since we packed light and stayed overnight. New post coming tonight, I hope. Please look for it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

